Preparing for the 2015 Colorado Legislative Session

As Colorado starts to prepare for the 2015 legislative session, construction defect reform is shaping up to be another key issue under the Capitol dome. Once again, the Homeownership Opportunity Alliance (HOA) will be leading the charge. The HOA is a coalition of Coloradans working to open the doors to homeownership by: 1) protecting consumers from unknowingly entering into litigation and establishing solid processed through which homeowners and developers can work together to achieve a positive resolution to identified defects in construction, and 2) increasing the supply of attainable, affordable housing while protecting the rights of consumers to take legal action.

The HOA’s coalition partners include:

American Subcontractors Association
Apartment Association of Metro Denver
Associated Builders and Contractors
Associated General Contractors
Building Jobs 4 Colorado
Colorado Association of Home Builders
CO Assoc. of Mechanical & Plumbing Contractors
CO Assoc. of Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors
Colorado Civil Justice League
Colorado Competitive Council
Colorado Concern
Denver Metro Chamber of Commerce
Denver South Economic Development Partnership
Douglas County Commissioners
Downtown Denver Partnership
Heating, Air-Conditioning, Refrigeration Professionals
Hope Communities
Housing Colorado
Independent Electrical Contractors
Metro Denver Economic Development Corp.
Metro Mayors Caucus
NAIOP Colorado
National Electrical Contractors
Sheet Metal & Air Conditioning Contractor

In addition, the coalition is joined by the following Colorado mayors:

Marc Williams, Arvada
Steve Hogan, Aurora
Sue Horn, Bennet
Dick McLean, Brighton
Rick Pilgrim, Bow Mar
Randy Ahrens, Broomfield
Jeffrey Huff, Castle Pines
Cathy Noon, Centennial
Doug Tisdale, Cherry Hills Village
Gale Christy, Columbine Valley
Sean Ford, Commerce City
Michael Hancock, Denver
Randy Penn, Englewood
Tony Carey, Frederick
Marjorie Sloan, Golden
Ron Rakowsky, Greenwood Village
Bob Murphy, Lakewood
Phil Cernanec, Littleton
Jim Gunning, Lone Tree
Joe Gerlach, Nederland
Joyce Thomas, Northglenn
Mike Waid, Parker
Dallas Hall, Sheridan
Herb Atchison, Westminster
Joyce Jay, Wheat Ridge

To follow the HOA’s activities, you can visit its website, follow it on Twitter, or like it on Facebook. In addition to following the HOA, be sure to check back here to stay informed about the latest happenings on the legislative front.


To learn more about our firm, call or e-mail us today to schedule a meeting with a member of our team